Track for the Day

Most beautiful thing ever? I look forward to wandering around London in the sun with this in my ears.

Nice to see Nick Monaco‘s album Mating Call is on its way on Wolf + Lamb, with the first single Private Practice due for release on 11 August. We’ve always loved the W+L vibe but they are completely on fire at the moment, and their mates Soul Clap seem to have more than usual of the midas touch too (Nick’s in their gang, as is Tanner Ross. See: yesterday’s post). Nick’s been a figure on the sidelines for a little while now so I’m excited to hear what he’s been working on.

In the mean time, snap up any edits you can find – there are quite a few on his Facebook page.

Track for the day

When Saints Go Machine‘s new album Infinity Pool came out on !K7 in May, and Iodine is the follow up to first single Love and Respect. It’s been doing the rounds on the remix circuit but this is my favourite; a submission from Maddslinky under his Zed Bias alias.

A free download, a nice bassline to add a bit of pep to the original, and a REALLY nice vocal from lead singer Nikolaj Vonsild (sounds very much like Antony and the Johnsons’ Antony Hegarty on Daniel Bortz‘s Boyz II Men, a track we play a lot when we’re in afterparty mode).

Great for this somewhat moody hot weather we’re having.

And we don’t need an excuse to listen to Boyz II Men again (so beautiful but always makes me want to cry)

Havens + Hart

Havens + Hart

Havens + Hart are new to Stranjjur, and their Sunset Lullaby is one of those tracks that you find at the end of a really great mixtape, and you’re a bit sad when it’s over and it fades out to silence.

They are Minneapolis residents J.D. Havens and Aaron Hart, and they play honest, deep house – melodic and chilled. As such, they are to be found firmly around the 120bpm mark, you’ll see them on labels such as Sleazy Deep and Electronique, and remixers include The Revenge. I like this consistency of style, as well as the ability to not only warm up, but pick up, a crowd with their sets. This one lilts along so nicely I’d listened to it twice before I realised.

Little Bits That Matter

tom demac 2Our track for the day today could really be any of the tracks on this EP, and that’s not surprising when you see who is involved – Tom Demac on Pets Recordings. Well done Greg and Voitek (Catz n’ Dogz) for getting this little beauty on your label.

Tom’s been a busy boy this year and has chosen his labels well, with the Critical Distance EP storming out on Hypercolour (who we watched deservedly win Best Label at DJ Mag’s Best of British this week), another EP on their Glass Table imprint as well as a recent release on My Favourite Robot. As his website tells us, he must have finally made the big time, because there’s a piece on him in The Sun!

Tom Demac

Track of the day is a sneaky little builder, a naughty tease which you think is a straight up disco number until it drops this utterly filthy bassline which I actually can’t get enough of. I wasn’t intending to turn on the computer today (I love Christmas) but I just had to write something about this bad boy. So I bring you: Tom Demac, Tanners. Turn. It. UP.

Tiga Non Stop

Tiga‘s 6 Mix show is a wonderful nugget of personality, and I always get the giggles at his outrageous view of his world. The next one is on tonight at 10 so you can see what I mean, but as a little example, he calls his forthcoming mix album Non Stop “a crystal ball through which you can glimpse the music-encrusted future I call now.”

Aside from this he very clearly demonstrates his skills at uncovering and selecting damn fine electro music (in typical Tiga style he calls himself The Seeker), and this is the main ingredient for the unwavering success of the Turbo label over the last 14 years.

As an avid follower I’ve been excited for a while now about his first mix CD in five years, especially as it weighs in at a mammoth 28 tracks. With that mix length you can spend some time building and developing, and I think starting with the calmly sublime Swingin’ Party by Kindness does exactly that, then layering some more menacing techno bass going into 4E’s Temple Traxx. Tiga says ‘This is the first mix I’ve done that embodies the ethic of “Tempos Without Borders”, starting out around 108 BPM before ultimately arriving at 126, the mythical “Golden Rectangle” of tempos.’

From Adam Marshall onwards it’s a full-blown party. In fact I could whack up the stereo, turn all the lights off in my house and happily pretend I was in a Tiga-fuelled sweatpit dancing my arse off somewhere in East London. Listening at my desk, I found myself typing quicker, doing the chair-shuffle and randomly shouting out ‘Yeah!’ every so often to no-one in particular (see track 23, Gladio’s Calligula). They’ve begun to get used to that a little bit when I’m listening to good music, but damn this album gets you going.

The snippets of vocal along the way are well-chosen and brilliant, Tiga’s own Track City Bitch and one of my favourites on there; Romare – The Blues (It Began in Africa). This into Auntie Flo and then Lula Circus? YES PLEASE. It’s a mix with enough recent-oldies as new sounds, but I like that; I am a fan of a revisit and instant classics like Duke Dumont‘s Street Walker and Auntie Flo’s Oh My Days don’t get old and it would be a crime to leave something by Blawan out of the tracklist.

Well done Tiga, you reminded me once again why I love you. He likes to make people party, and he has an ear for exactly what will do that. All layered nicely over a mix that builds you up so much you need to go out immediately after listening. A definite highlight is his own exclusive new track Plush, co-produced with Matthew Dear. It is out as a single 26 November, but you can get your hands on the album sooner than that: it’s out 12 November on Different Recordings/PIAS.

He’s at Fabric next Friday 9 November alongside Daniel Avery and Filthy Dukes. See you on the dancefloor.

01. Kindness – Swingin’ Party
02. 4E – Temple Traxx
03. AFX – AFX Acid 04
04. MKRNI – Humedad (DJs Pareja Remix)
05. Tiga – Plush
06. Audion – Cloth (Just A Couch)
07. Duke Dumont – Street Walker
08. Adam Marshall – Bass Tracking
09. Marco Carola – 90′s
10. Bok Bok & Tom Trago – Lil Ma Bonus Beat
11. Tiga – Track City Bitch
12. Terence Fixmer – Inner Playground
13. Romare – The Blues (It Began In Africa)
14. Auntie Flo – Oh My Days
15. Lula Circus – Once Upon A Time
16. Tiga – The Picture
17. Locked Groove – Keep Thorough
18. Duke Dumont – The Giver
19. Clouds – Those Cracks In Your Face, Do They Hurt?
20. Blawan – 6 To 6 Lick
21. Panda Bear – Surfer’s Hymn (Actress Primitive Pattern Mix)
22. Jacques Greene – Prism
23. Gladio – Calligula
24. K Alexi – Vertigo
25. Aubrey – Spank Spank 2008
26. Factory Floor – Two Different Ways
27. Crash Course In Science – Flying Turns
28. A Homeboy, A Hippie & A Funki Dredd – Total Confusion (Heavenly Mix)